Nostalgia and to be an heir

Saw delicious movie – Paris at Midnight. The bit of nostalgia enthrilled me, but missed its goal. I love nostalgia. I love engorging in old times, imagining lives of people ages ago and how they dealt with everyday things as well as large world events.

Photo

Paris, of course, is lovely, but my fav place to dream of is England. What better then, than to cozy up with fantastic Downton Abbey?

Photo

Fantastic Maggie Smith is, as always, a woman of strong character with a pondus that reaches through and grabs you by the throat should you feel the urge to put your feet up on the coffee table.

Photo

Photo

And of course – the couple. All of these couples in British movies from the 19-20th century has a reluctant female idol, have you noticed? Regard Austen´s Elizabeth in Pride and Prejudice – although the roles are quite contrary in Downton Abbey, with the lady regarding her the moral as well as social superior to her gentleman.

Ah, the glory days. Could I be a nice maid with a good household, God help me, I like the idea. Of course, right of education, civic rights etc etc etc. Let me linger in my politically incorrect nostalgia in a while, will you?

/Jojo

About thejojonetwork

The feeling you get when something touches you genuinely. A movie, a picture, a place or a song. I will sort through the dayly buzz and try to find the glimpses of gold that lights a spark in me. All the fantastic things that you sometimes take for granted. Take a look around and lit the spark.

Leave a Reply

